Caffeine addiction

Yesterday I realized how heavily I am addicted to coffee. On Tuesday I had my teeth whitened and my doctor said that I could eat only white food for the next 48 hours. What is worse, I can’t drink coffee and tea. At first, I thought it wouldn’t be that hard to live 2 days with these dietary restrictions and I was more worried about a toothache.

It turned out that I was deeply mistaken…Of course, I felt myself tired, but later in the afternoon my condition started to worsen. I had a fever, though I felt that it was very cold. My temples were throbbing, I was like in a fog and I couldn’t concentrate at all. I looked at the board and couldn’t find the necessary figures, couldn’t compare the beginning of the line with the end, all the numbers were jumping in different directions…I felt physical pain.

I couldn’t wait any more, situation was critical, so I went to the nearest shop and bought a can of Redbull. It was probably not the best solution, but at that time I thought that it is less harmful than taking caffeine pills, which I considered as an alternative solution. So, I drank the can in two gulps through a straw, but there wasn’t any magical effect, I wasn’t cured. However, after 20 minutes something clicked in my head, shivers ran through the body and finally my mind cleared. I quickly recovered and was able to think at the same speed as always. I don’t want to admit it, but Redbull saved me.

Today I had to get up at 6:00 in the morning, it was hard and I drank an analgesic that contains caffeine. It worked with the same effect as after the energy drink or coffee…later I took one more pill, when a headache was about to come back.

To conclude, I want to say that I underestimated my coffee addiction. I am scared that I had such a strong physical reaction, because I always though that I have only mental addiction and I can stop caffeine consumption whenever I want. No, I can’t and I want to get rid of that. I wish I could find a club of anonymous coffeelovers…

cup-of-black-coffee

2 thoughts on “Caffeine addiction

  1. It’s the same with me. It all started with just a cup once a day which, as I was thinking then, had no effect on me. I like the taste of coffee and having it every day had actually nothing to do with energizing, because coffee has a very temporary effect on me. However, I have realized that I rarely have a day without coffee now, which scares me a lot, because the least thing I want is to actually get a caffeine addiction!
    So I totally understand you. And be careful with energy drinks, I know quite a few people that are having health problems because of them as well.

    • Actually, I hate energy drinks and drink them only in emergency cases.
      About coffee addiction, I asked one my friend who is a doctor how to deal with this problem and he said that I should choose 3-4 days, when I could do nothing and just sit at home, watch movies, sleep and all that without any caffeine. I will be in a condition I described in the post during these days, but afterwards I will be clean and won’t have any addiction. I believe this should work and I want to try this method, the only problem is that I don’t have 4 absolutely free days in the nearest future((

Leave a Reply

